(Electronic-BOOK) The electronic counterpart of a printed book, which can be viewed on a desktop computer, laptop, smartphone or e-book reader.
The major problem with e-books is the many formats competing for prime time, including Adobe PDF, Microsoft Reader, eReader, Mobipocket Reader, EPUB, Kindle and iPad. All e-book formats have a search capability, but most do not support a direct dictionary lookup, which means if a person looks up the term "network," all the definitions that contain the word "network" are retrieved rather than the single definition of that term. The results are akin to the mountain of results retrieved by a search engine.
In the vast majority of cases when you want to read an E-Book from the sources described below you can do it directly on the computer you are using. Either because the material is displayed in some sort of book format, such as Safari Books Online, or it can be downloaded as a PDF. Unfortunately the state of the Ebooks market is in constant flux, therefore we can't always predict if there will be a problem in access this material. If you do please come or contact the library for assistance.
Most Safari titles are now also available on the Safari O'Reilly Academic Learning Platform, which allows for unlimited simultaneous users. All users must provide their Hiram College email address in order to use the new O'Reilly platform.
Guest and walkin users may use (safari @ hiram.edu) for access. SETTING UP A PERSONAL ACCOUNT AFTER ENTERING YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS IS NOT REQUIRED for future access (though setting up an account may streamline the access process). The O'Reilly platform will replace the current Safari Books Online platform as of 12/1/18.
Hiram College students, faculty, and staff have access to more than 15,000 books in full-text in this collection. In additional to these titles, a number of books in the public domain are available to all users. Note: This collection was formerly known as netLibrary.
This database, produced by the American Council for Learned Societies, provides searchable full-text of some 1500 books in most humanities disciplines and area studies. The titles are from 250 publishers.
Created by the National Academies to publish the reports issued by the national Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, makes available more than 1,500 of its books available free online.
Preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse. Bartleby provides students, researchers, and like minded individuals with unlimited access to books and information on the web for free. Popular resources found on Bartleby include Roget's Thesaurus, Bartletts Quotations, Harvards Classics, Bulfinch's Mythology
More than 150,000 pages of rare material, including how-to books and guides; professional and employee manuals; society publications, among them sorority and fraternity pledge manuals and
Boy Scout and Girl Scout manuals; textbooks discussing home economics, health and hygiene, and sex education; teacher-training and course manuals; commercial literature; and government instruction manuals for various workplaces and industries. These documents reflect historical American attitudes towards race, citizenship, education, work, sex, gender roles, life cycles, family, and religion.